On a Dime – A Short Scene

A
I don’t WANT to be a slave!

B
But, you are.

A
But, I don’t WANT to be!

B
Tough shit.

A
This isn’t getting me anywhere. I know I’m meant to be more than that.

B
But, you aren’t. You were born a slave, you’re going to die a slave – that’s just how you’re working off your Karma – quit with the Pride and Dignity thing; you’re never meant to have any.

A
Bull-fucking-shit. You don’t know me from Adam.

B
That’s not exactly the way I would put it.

A
But you don’t!

B
I know more than you’ve forgotten.

A
What does that even mean?

B
It means, “Listen to me.”

A
But you’re not there everyday. You don’t know how hard it is not to turn on a dime and destroy someone because you know you have it in you and that’s what they deserve.

B
Yeah. No, be a bartender or a waiter or something.

A
NO!!

B
They’re just going to beat you off the library steps with a baton and some catnip – you know this, right?

A
Theoretically.

B
Just give in, already. Swallow your pride and submit to your fate.

A
I am my own Fate!

B
If that’s the way you want it…

[B snaps fingers.]

Leave a Reply

